Each Simple Act of Thankfulness

So many times we wonder, “What is the will of God? And in this situation?” What does He want me to do? How do I make this decision at this fork in the road? I throw my hands up (bring them together actually) and just pray His will be done and hope it works out.

Sometimes we want God to be so specific. Honestly, I don’t think he cares too much what job I do or where my postal code is. It’s more about how I am working and living, isn’t it? Am I in sync with His will? Am I yielding my will to His? Am I living like it’s laid out below in Colossians 3:15,

And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. . . and verse 16. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly . . . with thankfulness in your hearts to God. . . and verse 17. And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Personally, over the last two months so much healing has taken place since that first week when I was literally plunged into darkness. Al and I were told, “It is possible you will regain your sight.” Whoa– possible? That wasn’t too encouraging. I desperately sought refuge in God and that I could trust in whatever lay ahead, hoping His will would be to heal. He blessed me with an overwhelming feeling of love and peace and thankfulness for the faith He has given me. It was an incredible gift to be able to rest in knowing He has my best interests at heart. God’s work in me jumped off the page last week as Al read Psalm 16. I said, “There it is! We have heard preachers and others say a few times, “the only good in me is from God.” This is a Bible verse that says it:

Psalm 16:1,2 “Preserve me, O God, for in you I take refuge.
I say to the Lord,
“You are my Lord; I have no good apart from you.”

Well, THERE’s a reason to be thankful! Where would I be without you, Jesus (rhetorical, don’t answer that!) And each simple act of thankfulness is living in His will.

Lincoln just being adorable with his hands in his mouth. We celebrated Preston’s 2nd birthday with a pretty awesome cake. Marshall from Paw Patrol made an entrance and was a huge hit!And we are pretty excited that Crystal is home for a couple weeks!  The stroller brigade pic was a successful trip through Zooz with the kiddos.

Oh, hey, the DOCTOR’S visit last week. Good report! Less inflammation again, the retina is almost completely back where it should be and I no longer need to take 3 eye meds. He gave us a 6 month weining program for prednisone along with the usual reminder that it may grind to a halt or reverse at anytime. But a huge praise! Every week or two I come across a marker of somewhere I’ve been and can compare to what it was like then and now. I can see noticable improvement in those 2 week sections. I have more energy (still a wimp though), less eye strain, less darkness in the room, I am sleeping better, hearing better and other little things. It is such a blessing to be on the mend. Thank you again for all your love and prayers and we give God the glory for His work in each one of us.

Leave a Reply

